Any iZotope Neutron 3 users?

Hi there!,

Do any of you guys use Neutron 3 for mixing? If so, how do you feel about it?
Do you find it makes the whole production process easier?

I had been using Neutron 3, but I just splashed out and got Ozone 9 Advanced, which is pretty impressive. You can use reference tracks to set the type of mix sound you want, for example, and adjust characteristics of instrument classes in final mixed audio (!). It’s mix analysis (“AI driven”) is good and it has great loudness maximisation both “Olde Skool” and LUFS wise.

So I continue to use Neutron 3 on tracks, and Ozone on the mix, and that seems a nice combination. I like Neutron because it’s nice and simple for tracks.

2 Likes

I’ve always loved Neutron for voice. It’s a master for film dialog which is my main reason for using it.

2 Likes

Do you find it makes the whole production process easier?

Yes, I think so, but I am not a professional, so my mileage is certainly different

Anyway, I cannot live without it and the number of tools that work together (Relay, Ozone, Visual mixer, etc.)

BTW, I recently bought also Nectar with Melodyne
and even VocalSynth 2 that is a lot of fun

1 Like

Are you using Neutron 3 at the sound design stage or mixing? or both? And I thought Ozone was strictly for the Mastering stage?

This is what I had read at least.

When you use the Ai Assistant, how do you find that your mix ends up? Do your sounds get all thrown off? Some louder then others or lower?
Do you still end up having to make further adjustments to the mix or does the Ai work it’s magic good enough?

Well first of all I should state that I am a ‘bedroom’ dabbler with little understanding of my actions.