Chord Detect Scaler - Audio

I have Cubase Pro 10.5
I have Scaler 2
I am running MacOS 10.15

What I want to do is be able to play a You Tube Music track and somehow have that audio output detected by Scaler 2 using the audio input option in Detect. Is that possible?

Hi @larryegood,

Yes, it is possible, but it requires a bit of configuration. I won’t go into specific details but I can give you some pointers:

One way would be to redirect the audio from your web browser into a “virtual output”. There is some software utility for this. Then your music software could use this virtual output as its audio source onto a track.
Finally, you load Scaler onto the track and record the audio input from the track.

I hope this helps,

If the video is of single instruments this could work. I don’t think you should expect a full band playing will result in accurate results though.

Thanks ! Makes sense

Perfect. Appreciate the reply

Hi,

I use Cubase Pro 10.0.6/Scaler 2. I’m new to Scaler, and don’t know what would happen if you played a full mixed track with the Audio Detection on.

The other method mentioned by a previous poster may be better, but here’s another suggestion to try with Cubase. I have no idea what the results will be.

First, record the track into Audacity, then select part of the song, or the whole thing, and save it was a Wave file in Audacity. Then, import that file into Cubase and experiment with Audio Detect in Scaler.

I don’t know MacOS so you may need a similar method with some other software. You can try Studio Set-up > Uncheck “Release Driver when Application is in Background.”

Anyway, it’s an interesting experiment. Let us know what the results were. I may try it myself. I think I’d try to isolate, perhaps one measure at a time, put it in a loop, and try Detect on that.

Good luck.

So, I tried my own method.