Circle of Fifths - Suggested Chords

I’m new to music theory so bear with me if this seems like a foolish question.

Is there an easier way to find suggested chord progressions like on Hooktheory’s website?

I would like to have my pattern laid out next to the circle and see suggested chords when I click on a chord already in my pattern.

Could you link or upload a picture of what you mean on Hooktheory?
If you’re searching for the next chord, then I like to go to the Modulation section and display all the Modes for the key, and then it gives me a good range of potential chords.

I believe the OP is referring to this - Hooktheory

Display all modes? Would that be the Progression or Modal Interchange preset?

On Hookteory’s website there is a chord progression tab where you can choose a chord and get and explore progressions.

Hooktheory Chord Progression

I like that, but its pretty basic. No 7ths 9ths 13ths or suggestions from other modes that would make it a lot more colorful

1 Like

Thanks for the pic.

Hooktheory also has a free online version of their Hookpad songwriting tool that allows you to pick 7ths, 9ths and so on. Obviously the free version limits what you can choose.

https://hookpad.hooktheory.com

1 Like

Obviously my pocketbook also limits what is available, too.
$149 is a lot of smackers, and then the cost of the books? eeesh…

Have you had a chance to use Modal Interchange and the Circle of Fifths in Scaler? I think the bases are covered.

Please correct me if I’m wrong.

1 Like

Yes I am getting more familiar with Modal Interchange and the Circle of Fifths progression recommendations.

I suppose the appeal with Hooktheory is the user friendly interface but Scaler 2 definitely delivers once I manage to get past the learning curve. I still have a way to go with Scaler 2’s interface but I’m making progress.

Another question. Is there a quick way to find relative major and minor scales in Scaler 2’s Circle of Fifths?