Degrees showing “flat” and “sharp” intervals (when applicable)

Hi guys!

Congratulations for a wonderful piece of software!
Thank you for all the new features and for the energy and effort you put on improving your software!

I’m a harmony teacher and I would like to implement Scaler in my classes,
teaching and encouraging students to use it.

But there are a few things I’m missing from the harmony point of view,
one of them is degrees displaying the interval relation to the tonic.

Example:
If we are in the key of C, it would be useful to have
“Ab” displayed as “bVI” and “A” displayed as “VI”.

[Right now Scaler 2.4.1 shows Ab as VI (instead of bVI)].

Sometimes, both chords are used in the same piece, so it’s important to distinguish between bVI and VI.

If this is something some of you don’t use, it could be added as an option in the preferences.
“Degrees display interval relation” or something like that.

Thank you!

1 Like

I would certainly second this. However, I also think intervals should be displayed both relative to the scale in focus and to the chromatic scale (unless that is what you meant in interval terms ?)

Chromatic intervals allow heptatonic scales and chords to be ‘codified’ into a single number which can then be manipulated to see what fits with what for an amateur like me. [One can do this by assigning each note position in a chromatic scale to a bit in a 16 bit word, and noting the integer so implied. So the Ionian scale would add up to 2741 (1+4+16+32+128+512+2048); a major triad from that scale would be 145 (1+16+128) . So, say, in Excel BITAND(145,2741)-145=0 i.e. the triad is contained in the scale. Note that the key doesn’t matter with this analysis, and neither do second octaves for 9th,11, and 13th notes, odd though this might seem - try it!]