Do transposed keys create a different mood?

Do different keys convey different moods?. I.e., would the moods of C major, E major and G major convey any different sentiment? The Scaler descriptions for such transpositions imply that the moods would be the same. Yet this question was controversial in past centuries with a great deal of description of moods in different keys (perhaps because of ill-tempered tuning of instruments at that time for different keys?) . I know that you have to use different transpositions sometimes to match a singer’s vocal range or the pitch range of an instrument. In addition, I know that changes in mood can be very noticeable when transposing to a different key in the middle of a composition. Also, high pitches would seem to convey a lighter mood than dark, low pitches. However, if one wrote a piece in, say, C minor, would it differ in any way in mood from one written in C# minor? I am 79 years old and getting back to the piano that I studied and performed with over 50 years ago, and have been composing music during the past 2 years during COVID, using Logic Pro. I’ve taken many music courses in this time, but none seem to mention there being any differences in mood between compositions written in different keys. Since C is the easiest key to compose in, is there any reason regarding mood to compose in other keys? I’m wondering what the musicians in the Scaler forum feel about this question.
I have been finding Scaler incredibly useful and it is my favorite program to use in conjunction with Logic Pro and Kontakt. The huge range of Expressions is especially valuable.
Stephen G.

2 Likes

Check this thread @SteveG Mood/Style descriptions - source?
Overall I would ask - how do they make you feel?

1 Like

I think both major and minor scales serve the melody.
Different keys may inspire different melodies, which can also be considered as singing.