Helping With Orchestral Writing

I am trying to learn orchestral composition and struggling with a lot of the theory, even though in my head, I can hear what I am trying to do so, I bought scaler 2 to see if it can help and was beyond amazed on how I was able to create a basic piece with the classical selection under songs. My question is, does anyone know how to create different melodic parts to a chord progression?
I have a few very nice vst instruments to use (Spitfire BBCSO & Solo Strings, Audio Imperia Nucleus & Areia and a few others) and if my question isn’t clear enough, please ask for clarity as I am new to this and not quite sure how to phrase the question.

Hi Rossy
I don’t know exactly what you mean, but I’ll tell you that, based on Scaler chords, I write a lot of things in classical. So far I have always used BBC Discovery instruments plus Spitfire’s Intimate and Epic Strings. Now I am learning how to use it with the EastWest Orchestrator.
Basically, the most basic thing is to leave a Scaler for chords, which I usually route to Intimate Strings but which very well in your case can go towards the great Audio Imperia Nucleus strings
Then I make copies of the initial Scaler (with the same chord progression) in which I apply perfomances or melodies. These I send to other groups of instruments (woodwinds, brass, for example)
As for the bass, there are two main options: you can copy the lower part of the chords and leave it for cellos and double basses, thus having a good orchestral base in the bass, and you can also use another Scaler with bass interpretation that would go to double basses and / or cellos in pizzicato or spiccato

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply and sorry it wasn’t very clear. Your explanation is what I am trying to achieve but I do have a couple of questions

1. When you say you “send to other groups” how do you do that?