Rolands Zenbeats...a quick and easy way to explore Scaler & ScalerAudio

[caveat //on]
I’m not a musician, I’m a nerd who loves making noise that approximates music and Scaller makes some of that noise sound pretty darn good. I’m sure there are similar ways to do this in other DAWs, but it works for me so I thought I’d toss it out there.
[caveat //off]

Sometimes, loading a full blown DAW when I just want to quickly sketch an idea or continue exploring all the cool things I can do with Scaler, can be a little heavy. Recently, I brushed the dust off Rolland’s free Zenbeats as a host for Scaler and a lot of my other VSTs. Roland recently purchased ZenBeats so it will probably be around for at least a little while. While the arcade game like UI in Zenbeats can feel a little shall I say…limited, it is simple to learn, there is a stable engine under the hood and it plays very well with Scaler and ScalerAudio. It is easy to setup a couple tracks and explore Scaler and your instruments quickly and in near real time.

My Scaler quick and dirty sandbox in Zenbeats

Track 1 - MIDI instrument
Instrument Track - with any Zenbeats or VST instrument loaded
On that instrument insert a Midi FX which is set to a Scaler 2 VST
Now when enabled, Scaler will drive that instrument and you can quickly swap instruments and presets with one or two clicks. I just get a sequence running and cycle through settings. I’m constantly blown away by how different presets and instruments change the nature of the Scaler performance sequences.

Track 2 - Audio file
Audio Track - to hold any audio file that I want ScalerAudio to detect chords on.
On this track I add a Send Track and set it to a ScalerAudio instance

Track 3 - Audio FX Send Track
The Send Track referenced from Track 2 - This contains an instance of ScalerAudio so when I arm the Detect and I play the clip in Track 2, I get any detected chords.