S2 - Could Scale Lock follow Chord Progs? (Idea)

Hi all,

Awesome work on S2. Curious though, if its possible that “Scale Lock” could follow a previous Chord Progression (that maybe another S2 Instance was playing back). So the new instance automatically switches to its Scale in sync with the other).

Trying to figure a way to do this manually but no luck so far.

Many Thanks

Curious problem you are having. :wink:

I bought Scaler2 less than 3 days ago, so I’m totally new. Having said that, I am also a retired programmer (not hacker, programmer). I will try to help with a few suggestions.

Let me also say, that I have been playing Sax since the age of 7 and I am almost 60 yo. I would like to get something out to you and others regarding chord theory. Locking everything into the same chords can be highly advisable, however, it can also become very limiting.

There are times when you want different instruments or groups of instruments to be playing different chords. But if locking is what you want, then here goes:

On the highest level… Have you tried Settings (cog wheel) => Export State? Once you export, you should be able to import this “saved” state into multiple tracks within your DAW.

On a lesser level… Have you tried exporting the midi to a track and routing that track to multiple tracks with S2 installed on each of those tracks and using the chord track to trigger “keylock” play-along?

Have you also tried duplicating tracks? As I understand, S2 has its own track and S2 targets a midi or audio track. So there are a pair of tracks. If you select both tracks, you should be able to duplicate them as a group, and they should maintain the same relationship as the original tracks had to each other.

What I am saying sounds complicated, but maybe I am not saying it exactly right. I have not used Scaler 2 yet. I have been busy this weekend and had to finish some chores today. Hopefully I can use Scaler 2 for the first time tomorrow.