Scale newbie question

What is c minor listed in the mode column as Major 6th? - Thanks

Not really a ‘newbie’ question at all …

I was never comfortable / familiar with this presentation, but I assume that (e.g.) it is in terms of a diatonic major starting on the 6th degree of the root. Scaler thinks in modes and if you look down the list this ties in all the way down e.g. Ionian augmented is built on the 3rd degree of the harmonic minor and it titled "harmonic minor 3rd’

So I think the description could be read as “mode” / “interval above the root”

However, I am a music theory amateur / novice and many here are in the business so will no doubt jump in shortly :slight_smile:

Thanks for jumping in. C minor is major 6 in relation to what? I still am not grasping this. The 6th degree of what root? - Thanks

My (naive) interpretation is as follows.

The C major scale has an interval formula in half steps of 2212221, and that represents, starting from C, C D E F G A B. If you rotate the intervals left by one step, you get 2122212. Taking those steps form the C root, gives you C D bE F G A bB Which is C Dorian. [Of course, if you started from the second degree of the C major (i.e. D) this would be D E F G A B i.e. D Dorian which has the a same notes as C major]

Here the root is C and the degree is 6, so if we look at rotating the intervals from C major we have

2122122 <<< 6th

Apply those intervals from a C root, and you get

C D bE F G bA bB i.e C Aeolian aka C natural minor

So the intervals are from a major scale/mode, but the scale is C minor.[These are course the same notes as bE major (ionian) - scales are driven by roots and intervals.