Scaler 2.1.2 - Notes Hanging all the time

Hi all
I’m new to Scaler and new to the forum, so thanks for having me.

I’ve looking across the forum but couldn’t find a resolution.

Anyone have/had a similar issue and a solution hopefully.

Using PLX and Scaler2 as a VST… Hangs of the notes literally every session. No issues on any other VST

Here’s hoping, Cheers, Mark

Please make sure “latch” is not enabled:

Thanks for that… had a look in the preferences and it was set to ‘chords only’

Should Midi have an

Exclamation Mark next to it??

Not too many people notice the exclamation mark! :wink:

If you hover you will see, “Midi Panic: Reset jammed midi notes.”
If you click on [MIDI !], “MIDI Panic” will display.

In most DAWs and some keyboards there is a way to send Midi Panic to turn off stuck midi notes. In Reaper it is the function key [F3]. In Scaler you can click on [MIDI !]. In other DAWs ymmv.

1 Like

Normally this would indicate that your devices are getting NOTEON messages without receiving the corresponding NOTEOFF messages. This can happen when notes are allowed to overlap, i.e., the same note is played on top of the next note. I really don’t know why this happens, really, but I suppose that midi applications don’t use a counting buffer per note.

You would think that {same note} NOTEON, NOTEON, NOTEOFF, NOTEOFF or NOTEON, NOTEOFF, NOTEON, NOTEOFF would be equivalent, but apparently there is a problem with the prior as it has been reported to be a problem known as “overlapping notes”.

In Reaper when editing midi, you can click a button to “fix overlapping notes”.

Note: Other than that? One of the devs might have to chime in, or you can contact them directly via email. They will need information about your setup.

It would really be a big help if they can duplicate the problem to come up with a solution. The problem is, that unless they can re-create the “same” problem, there usually isn’t a clear solution.

1 Like