Scaler crashing on performance playback

Hi there, firstly I don’t know if how I’m trying to utilise Scaler is even possible, perhaps someone with more experience could advise me in that regard.
I’m using Scaler 1.5 in Reaper DAW, I’m a guitarist who doesn’t have the first idea about keyboard chords so the advent of this plugin seemed like the ideal solution to my lack of ability.
I insert Scaler followed by a VSTi Synth into my track, I have no problem inputting the chords into Scaler which I require for a given song, using ‘bind midi’ I can play these chords via my midi controller and record a performance into Reaper but when it comes to playing back the track Scaler more often than not crashes my whole system or a note will freeze and hang requiring Scaler to be removed from the chain to kill the drone.
Obviously, the information recorded into Reaper is just the trigger notes from my keyboard and I don’t think there is actually a way to record the chord information from the performance into a track, so to my mind Scaler has to be used as a playback plugin as well.
So I guess my question would be…is what I’m trying to do even possible or is there a way of recording the actual chords that Scaler produces rather that just the trigger notes?
Thanks for reading, I’m an old bloke and relatively new to computer recording so please be gentle! :confused:

HI @Karma_Train,

thanks for reporting the issue. When the playback crashes, is Scaler using the arpeggio, strumming or scale lock ? Or is it a simple chord playback ?
It sounds like a bug so we will try to fix this in the next patch.

It is really easy in Reaper to record the output of Scaler and not the trigger notes, create a virtual instrument track with the instrument you wish to control. Click on the INPUT FX icon (the green icon on the second row on the picture below) and load Scaler as a VST2.

49%20am

Now, when recording, Scaler’s output will be recorded to your track.

Hi Ed,