Absolute Newbie Seeking for Guidance

Hi there friends! Please bear with me…

I’m an absolute newbie, and I mean it, I don’t even know any music theory! But I love to make melodies, and I’m trying to learn as much as I can to make them better.

I’ve been playing with MIDIS for a while, making simple medieval style bard songs, and even though I’m super ignorant when it comes to music, I like how they sound (I’m aware that they must be terrible, but still, I can’t stop making them! :rofl:)

I found out about Scaler 2, and this incredible options that it checks your MIDI, detects the scale, and informs you of which notes are wrong, and I decided to initiate myself in the use of Scaler 2, to see if I could learn some music theory at the same time I develop my silly songs.

So I’ve been looking at the Youtube videos, and even though they are very well done, I’ve noticed that they are missing information for the super newbies like me. So I thought I might try to find some guidance here?

You are all very advanced musicians, and I’m like a clueless child, but I’m very eager to learn and make my songs as good as I can.

I would really appreciate it if you could spare some of your time and knowledge to answer to my super basic level questions. I hope that’s okay! :melting_face:

Thank you so much for reading my introduction, I’m very happy to be here.

I hope to meet many wonderful, kind, and patient musicians to help me navigate this amazing tool and hopefully become a better bard! :notes:

Welcome to Scaler! Ask away Good Sir! Someone will help out anon!

1 Like

Thanks! So, the first question is, and forgive me is it’s been said before (I just couldn’t find it anywhere), is there a way to check if the rhythm of my MIDI is correct?

I have tried the Perform option, but it performs in the same rhythm I had, and I’m pretty sure that my rhythm is wrong.

How can I check if the speed I played is good?
Thanks in advance!

Tough question!