Ambient and drone chord progressions

I’m new to Scaler 2, so please forgive me if I ask any dumb questions.

Can anyone point me in the right direction for finding ambient chord presets (for keyboard) for ambient and drone, from independent sound designers?

I’ve seen other posts on Space Ambient, but my genre is not space ambient, but rather meditative ambient, so I’m looking for a different vibe. The same with drone.

Thanks!

There are only 12 notes in an octave, and Scaler has mapped and can provide a reasonable facsimile of all possible permutations… short of laying a dead cat on the keyboard.
Use your ears for best results.

1 Like

Thanks, that was kind, welcoming, and helpful of you. Noted. Bye.

Hi @ando and welcome to the forum. There’s a few chordsets in scaler that can help you like the CHILL chord sets in the Songs dropdown. Meditative ambience is much more about the sound than the harmonic content (chords) so it’s a must to start off with the right sound library / VST. Native Instruments have some fantastic ones. Hope that helps.

1 Like

@davide, which libraries are you thinking about?

Thanks @davide, that’s really helpful, and thank you for the warm welcome, I appreciate it.

I’ve been making ambient for a while now, creating chord sequences by ear mostly, and keeping in a key that I’m particularly familiar with, Cm. But I invested in Scaler, because it feels like time to deepen my understanding of the nuts and bolts of the music I am making. Something I knew when I was young, but now, I’m way beyond rusty, and polishing up again.