Midi Generator (editing chords in Scaler)

Hi,

I am new to Scaler 2 and have watched some Demos.

Let’s say I have made some Chords in Midi format. Is there a way to change up the midi notes using scaler or to input midi to scaler to try out new Chords.

When I have been using Scaler is was playing my midi notes on the arrangement view but I didnt see a way to try out different chords. Or is this not what scaler 2 is? I know it was playing the chords I had in a different fashion similar to how a pianist would play it.

Is there a way that scaler reads my Midi and changes it up to something simular but different to try out new patterns.

Very newby question I know.

Thanks
Jack

Hi Jack,
Welcome to this Forum.
Let’s say you have a nice progression of your own. Cmaj - Fmaj - Cmaj - Gmaj.
You want to change it so something “more interesting”, like Cmaj - Gmin - Fmaj - Cmaj.

So, basically, you pass your MIDI, either directly from the keyboard by detecting it (the nice black button with a red dot) or detecting it from a MIDI file.

This will fill your progression it the section “A”:

BTW, Scaler will tell you that you played the C Major Scale (yeah, that’s right).
In the Section B, you’ll see the chords of C Major Scale:

You can drag or select (lasso) the chords in A, right-click and select to add these 4 chords to Section C:

There is another option to select:

Right-click in the free space left of the first chord or between any chord and then Select all chords:

You are in the section C? Here, you can do the magic.

If you want to preserve your original chords and add a few more to change, either in Selection A or in C, select all chords and add the to a new pattern.

If you only need to replace some chords, you don’t need to do this previous step.

Right-click on Fmaj that you want to modify and select Edit Chord in contextual menu: