More than 8 chords per pattern?

I am new to this amazing tool, and I wonder if there is a way to extend the patterns beyond the 8 slots?

8 slots is simply not close to enough for even one single chord progression for mer personally, as I like to use passing chords, added inversions etc. And I still want to have each pattern represent a complete chord progressions for a section of my compositions.

Therefore, I would like to basically double the slots for a pattern, to make it 16 instead of 8.

2 Likes

You can create multiple patterns and chain them together (Command - Click) so they play through continuously, you can even see them all at the same time in Pad View

1 Like

Yes I know that I can create multiple patterns, but I want each pattern to represent 1 complete chord progression.

What I want is to extend Pattern 1 (let’s say that is my verse), to 16 slots instead of 8. Right now I might get my cadence at slot 4 in pattern 2, which makes no sense as I named Pattern 1 (Verse). I want to name each pattern as the corresponding section of my composition. For easy drag and drop, playback of chord progression patterns etc.

2 Likes

Thanks for feedback, there’s always going to be limitations but this is one that can be mitigated in many ways (play through, key switch. midi capture, drag and drop, daw sync). Your the first to mention so if we get more feedback of the sorts we may take a look at ways of improving.

1 Like

When I record the chord progression in the top part of the GUI, I can add more than 8 chords. It adds a scroll bar. I basically want the same for the patterns as well. Is that possible in the current version, or should I add a feature request? :smiley:

3 Likes

If we added the scroll bar to section C we would lose the keyswitching functionality and also would throw out keys-lock and all the other things we like to apply to bound areas as they would become too large.