Notation software?

Hi all,
I’m evaluating Scaler (and liking what I’m finding!) and have a few questions.

I’m currently using Ableton and Bitwig, and neither has native notation tools. I was thinking about buying Reaper because it includes notation. I know there are also some tools specifically designed for notation, but I’m not that familiar with them, and am also trying to avoid subscription services (e.g. MuseScore). I have used Noteflight occasionally just out of curiosity.

The software I’m looking for should be able at least to import/export MIDI. Working in conjunction with Scaler in some way is a big plus.

FWIW I am not a pro nor a sight reader, but I do like the ability to write using notation. I haven’t done it in a VERY long time, but figure that if I’m actually learning some theory via software (or, just composing), notation might as well be a part of that.

Any suggestions appreciated.

thanks!

1 Like

MuseScore is available as a standalone download and does not require a subscription.

2 Likes

Thanks - they have three paid plans, but I don’t know how much I’d get out of them. Guess I could try it.

Select without Muse hub. MuseScore is free. (Pro is charged, but there is no functional difference.)

3 Likes

Just downloaded. Thanks.

I think Muse Hub is needed to download instruments, though?

I have recently been trying Dorico (SE, free version) and liking it a lot.

Musescore comes with sounds of various instruments, but not enough? If you are looking for high-quality tone reproduction, you may be dissatisfied.

For example, there is a way to add free SoundFonts.

Also, MuseScore4 can play VST sound sources, so I think you can play sound sources used in sclaer2 and DAWs (if you own them). I think there are also some free VST sound sources.

I don’t use MuseHub so I’m not sure.

2 Likes