Perhaps a first in the field of solo composition with animation

Every bit of this 2.5min piece, including ideation and creation of all animation and music, was accomplished in 12 of the last 22 hours. The RunwayML AI is insanely powerful, especially if you’re a fan of surrealism. And I finally am so comfortable with the tools in Scaler that that there’s a lot of flow in what’s a pretty complex process. Enjoy this one… it’s a lot more upbeat than my last one (F Lydian doesn’t hurt in that regard!).

“Fly McCool Goes to the Beach” on Vimeo

3 Likes

That’s really good thanks for sharing, I might look into that, is The Runway ML AI expensive?

Glad you dig it… was an interesting process and I’m just beginning to learn how to wrangle the RunwayML AI. It’s $100/month for unlimited rendering time, which for me seems to be necessary because of all the iteration required to get pleasing results. Here’s a piece I made with it a few days ago, soundtrack just me banging on my hand pan. “Magellanic Cloud” on Vimeo. This piece was much easier to make because it was simply a set of different shots that I cut together, compared to this epic 2.5min seamless single shot.

A friend just asked me to describe how I made this and I’ll copy that description here:

Here’s the basic workflow for this piece, apologies in advance for the run-on sentences.

Started with that portrait of the fly that I made up on the mountain this past Saturday. This was a very chill fly that let me put the phone 1” in front of its face, we spent quite a bit of time hanging out together that afternoon.