Replacing a chord in progression by its third Chord

Hi,
I have no musical theory knowledge but I have the musical intuition. I am aware that my lack of theory is a handicap and that’s why I use Scaler to help me, of course.
I wonder if there is an easy way to replace the copy of the existing chord in my progression by its third. For example, if I have the following progression as my Pattern “A1”:
Cmin - D min - Eb maj - F min - G min Ab maj - Bb maj
Then I add a Pattern B1 with different chords and then copy the pattern “A1” as a new one (e.g. A2) but want to replace the chords by their thirds.
Is there a simple way to convert the chords in and make them their thirds? For example, right-click on the first chord and have a drop-down menu with option “Third”. Or a button or check box below the chord telling “3rd” or so.

Thanks,

Mike

Mike do you mean you want to go up In thirds? Can you elaborate on what you mean by its third?

Hi David.
Exactly, I would like to go up in thirds. Well, this is my lack of theory that prevents me even from explaining it clearly. Basically, I listen my progression that I did in Scaler and in my head I “build” the respective third chords in order to sound a bit differently from the original ones but cannot imagine what they should look like on the keyboard. And, I would use them especially with Performances.
I hope it’s more clear.
Thanks

Mike

I don’t exactly know what you mean either, however…

You can do inversions, or you can perhaps change the key and copy the “new” chord progression into a track that hasn’t been transposed.

–perhaps?!

Why not use the Circle-of-5ths or transpose the key?

2 Likes

I’ll try this approach. Thanks.

I think this pretty much covers it. Using the CO5ths is easy as is transposing in EDIT mode (that’s probably the easiest, you can then go to CHORD EDIT mode to make extension adjustments. See attached.
Oct-29-2020 06-55-53

1 Like