Scaler controlling an external VST I

I am very new to scaler 2.4. I’ve been trying for weeks to figure this out so hopefully somebody out there can explain it to me or point me to a good tutorial. I have Band Lab and so far I’ve been able to get scaler loaded onto a track and operate within scaler but I can’t figure out how to get scaler’s chord patterns to come through an external VSTI. For instance I’d like to load audio track into Scaler, let scaler figure out the chords. Then put scaler into the mode which lets you let’s you play chords using single keys, then play those keys inside of scaler but have the sound come from a VSTI on a separate Is track, as I press the keys inside of scaler. Is this possible in band lab?

Here is the Tutorial and Overview video. I don’t know BandLab but it looks like it’s online only. If that’s the case I don’t see how it can use Scaler. BandLab would need to see VST plugins.

1 Like

Hi @Mlp I suspect that you are using Cakewalk (from Bandlab) and it may well be that many here are not familiar with Bandlab as such, but may be with Cakewalk.
[@jamieh I think he is using the old Sonar product, rebadged under BandLab, and now called Cakewalk (its original name), which is a local PC app]

If you are using Cakewalk, then yes, scaler will work with it.

“then play those keys inside of scaler but have the sound come from a VSTI on a separate Is track, as I press the keys inside of scaler. Is this possible in band lab?”
Yes, all the things you mention are possible. I’ll try and fire it up later today and put a couple of screen shots up.

I’ve had Cakewalk for 20 years (!) but I don’t use it now, and drive everything from Live, so I’ll have to blow the dust off it. You will find Scaler is a great source of ideas!

1 Like

I’m assuming that you are familiar with Cakewalk. To get used to the general setup with Scaler, open up a new CW instance which is blank. and add a midi track.