The Pentatonic Key-Lock

I first met the KeySwitch idea with my keyboard. It soon became apparent that many of the keyboards available, especially for children, had this feature. Plus, most were not full-size keys, so far better for the smaller hands.

As a Primary Teacher, I started teaching children to play with keyboards and not the piano. My objective was to get them into playing and being creative. Many later went on to study music.

Playing chords with just the single fingers of their left hand was magic. Even though they always played on the white notes, they could play in any key and loved exploring the options available. Also, many of these keyboards could add to the single-fingered chord, adding a second key to produce 7th, 9th and sus etc. I’m pleased to say that many soon outshone my abilities and created some fantastic pieces.

I often used well know patterns to play with and develop their right hand. It usually started with just the five notes of the pentatonic scale. This meant that I would leave out the F and B notes, or as they knew them, numbers 4 and 7.

I always wished there was a way to remove keys 4 and 7, thereby leaving five notes to fit their hand.

I’ve tried to do this with Scaler, using Pentatonic Scales and the various Key-Lock options. Sometimes I could get close, but not quite there.

I was wondering if any of the development team have an idea of how to do this. Maybe another option in Key-Lock?

Computers and Midi Keyboards are ubiquitous in playing and creating music today. I think that this idea could be of benefit to players, song creators and Scaler too.

Some of the common patterns played together.

If you select a major pentatonic scale

and set Keys Lock to “Scale Notes Only”

I think this will achieve your goal. You can only play the notes of the scale . The notes marked with x do not sound.

1 Like

Hi Ed66 and thanks for the reply.