Got verse chord sequence in DAW, can Scaler be added & used to suggest Chorus, bridge chords etc .. How?

Hi Guys,

I have alot of started projects with say an intro / verse chord sequence. I would like to develop the project using SCALER 2 which I have had for a while but only started using.

So is it possible to add the initial verse chord sequence I did into Scaler and from there get Scaler to suggest potential Chorus, Bridge chord sequences? ( I realise Scaler will not specify CHORUS or BRIDGE etc ), so alt chord sequences that could be used as a chorus, bridge etc.

As a Scaler beginner I would appreciate your direction on this + if there are any vid tutes showing this process.

I did find a tute building a project from an initial MELODY LINE:

But for our band I tend to kickstart a project with chord sequences and the vocalist then uses that base to do melodies and lyrics.

Hope all this makes sense
Cheers
Aidan … Cork, Ireland

Hi Aiden,

Welcome to the forum.

To add the initial chord sequence into Scaler you need to use the DETECT function

Then just drag your clip onto the middle of Scaler (note you can detect either midi or audio clips). Scaler will open a dialogue confirming you want to replace the existing sequence in Section A with your new clip.

Click on “YES” and your new clip will appear in Section A (note this does not affect any chords you have in Section C). Scaler will also display a selection of suggested scales for your detected clip, the topmost being the most likely scale.

If you then select a scale from the suggested list of scales you could try using the SUGGEST dialogue in Section B to create sequences for the chorus, bridge, or even a different verse.

For the sequence in my example I have chosen the E Locrian scale from Scaler’s suggestions

If I now click on the suggest button Scaler

will suggest a series of chords from which I can pick a chord for the first block